About Us

The Almonry, Evesham

This 14th Century building was once home to the Almoner of the Benedictine Abbey that was founded at Evesham in the 8th Century.

Following the closure of the Abbey by Henry VIII, the Almonry became the personal home of the last Abbot, Philip Ballard, whilst the rest of the Abbey buildings were sold to Sir Philip Hoby who arranged for the quarrying of the stone.

Today, the Almonry, two churches, bell tower and cloister arch are all that remain of what was reportedly the third largest abbey in England.

The Almonry has had a varied history: ale house, offices, tea rooms, and a private residence, until it was finally purchased by Evesham Borough Council in 1929, opening as a heritage centre in 1957.

The Almonry is still owned and funded by Evesham Town Council today.

The Museum

The Almonry houses an eclectic collection that spans from the prehistoric to the 20th Century. The Museum is displayed over 10 rooms and the garden: the emphasis is on how Evesham has developed and grown over time. There are exhibitions about the Abbey, the battle of Evesham in 1265, horticulture in the area, Anglo-Saxon burial treasure, 18th Century clothing and the impact of war upon this little market town.

For children, this is a wonderful place full of exciting treasures to discover and explore with family and friends.  During school holidays we offer Children’s Activity Packs with trails, puzzles and crafts.